England & Scotland 2016

I can’t believe it’s finally happening again! It has been two years (too long) since I visited Italy with my husband in 2014, and I have been dying to get back to Europe. The opportunity came along when my best friend Cassandra asked me to accompany her on a trip she was planning. I actually originally said no several times for personal reasons, money, etc, but the more I thought about it, the more I knew that it was something I could work out for myself. I was determined by Thanksgiving 2015 that I was committed to making this trip happen, and we have been planning ever since!

We will be spending two weeks between England and Scotland, mostly staying in London. We have so much planned for London, and I still feel like I could spend another week in the city packed full of things to do! We are visiting all the major historical London sites like Buckingham Palace, St. Paul’s Cathedral, Westminister Abbey, Big Ben, Tower of London, Tower Bridge, and Windsor Castle and also visiting several museums including the Victoria and Albert Museum, British Museum, and National Museum. We also have plans to see a Broadway, take a loop on the London Eye, and take a Harry Potter studio tour. In addition, we will be visiting other areas in England with day tours out to Stonehenge, Bath, Oxford University, and Stratford-upon-Avon.

A few days in Edinburgh, Scotland are on our agenda as well. It will be a nice change from the “hustle and bustle” of London to a laid back town. The Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace await us, along with a day tour out to the Scotland/England borders of Northumbria. On the tour, we will visit Alnwick Castle, which was featured in Harry Potter and Downton Abbey, and the tidal Holy Island of Lisdinfarne, which was an old monastery.

We are blessed to have a connection with some friends in England that are kind enough to let us spend a few days with them during our trip too! It is nice to know someone when traveling to an unfamiliar country for sure. AAaaanndddd, I will be dong all two weeks in carry-on luggage. Boom, shaboom! I made it 11 days in Italy with only carry-ons, so I know I can do 14 days.

I can’t believe that I am blessed enough to get to go on my second European trip AND with my best friend. I hope there are many more European trips in my future, especially for me and my husband; I will definitely miss him while I’m away! I will have a few posts to make after my trip, so please follow along with me as I take on England and Scotland.

till next time,

CLB

 

 

Leave a Reply

